Rule Question
The thread discusses a situation where a player becomes stuck due to an enemy wall, raising the question of whether there should be a stalemate (draw) rule in such cases, especially when a player cannot make a move without bypassing the wall.
Rulesplainer
There is a suggestion for a draw/ stalemate rule stating that a player must move at least two pieces to avoid such a situation. Others have shared experiences of similar situations arising, especially in the game’s normal or discovery mode. In this mode, repetitive positions may lead to an agreed draw. Multiple contributors noted that while stalemates are rare in ‘Normal’ game mode, they can occur. The game is designed to keep such situations to a minimum, especially in the ‘Expert’ mode, where players have access to all characters and can ban specific ones to counter strategies. Thus, the presence and management of specific characters can significantly alter the game’s dynamics, providing players better tools to prevent a stalemate.
Draw Rule
Rule Question
Can the Nemesis move only one space if it triggers, or must it always move two spaces if possible?
Rulesplainer
The rules state that the Nemesis must move two spaces when it is triggered. It cannot return to its original space during its movement. The interface on Board Game Arena (BGA) may show the ability for the Nemesis to move only one space, but this is a representation issue and does not reflect the official rules. Moving only one space does not conform to the game’s intended mechanics, as the creature is required to move two spaces under the rules.
Nemesis movement
Rule Question
The question revolves around whether an Acrobat can jump forward, change direction, and then jump forward again.
Rulesplainer
According to the responses in the discussion, the consensus is that yes, the Acrobat can indeed perform this sequence of jumps. The ability to change direction is confirmed, meaning the Acrobat is flexible in its movement pattern. This rule allows players to utilize various tactics during the game, enhancing the Acrobat’s strategic options. Overall, this understanding permits more dynamic gameplay and encourages creative problem-solving in maneuvering the Acrobat.
Acrobat
Rule Question
When is the check for suicide or capture of a Leader performed during the game? Does this check happen continuously throughout the player’s turn or only at the end of the turn?
Rulesplainer
The rules stipulate that during your turn, you cannot cause your Leader to be captured or surrounded. This means that throughout your entire turn, including during movement, you must ensure your Leader does not enter a position where they can immediately be captured. The capture check by the Assassin occurs only when the Assassin is adjacent to a Leader, and it applies at any moment a Leader is in that position, thus necessitating careful movement to avoid capture. Players should plan their moves to ensure they do not inadvertently enable a capture situation through their movements and must always consider the placement of the Assassin during their turn.
Timing of Suicide/Capture Check ?
undefined