Rule Question
This thread discusses a situation regarding the draw rule in a board game, particularly the issue faced when players cannot move past an enemy wall with their pieces. Users debate whether a draw or stalemate rule should be established to address this scenario.
Rulesplainer
The main concern expressed is the occurrence of stalemates when one player is unable to move due to an impenetrable wall created by their opponent, especially if certain characters are not in play. One user notes that they have considered a draw when the position is repeated. Another points out that this rarely happens in the “Normal” game mode, mentioning the game’s design has a specific focus on the “Expert” mode where players can mitigate such situations better by banning characters or selecting counters strategically. It was acknowledged that while the Normal game mode may allow for some frustrating circumstances due to limited character access, the Expert mode offers better strategic depth. Ultimately, the conversation highlights the need for balancing in gameplay modes and potential responses to stalemate situations.
Draw Rule
Rule Question
Can the Nemesis in the game be moved only one space if it triggers, or does it have to move two spaces if possible?
Rulesplainer
The Nemesis is required to move two spaces when it triggers. Although some platforms like Board Game Arena (BGA) may enforce a rule making it seem like it can only move one space, the official rules state that it must always move two spaces. The movement cannot go back to the Nemesis’s original position, which is why it can be forced to move at least one space in some representations. Thus, players should always adhere to the two-space requirement unless otherwise specified in specific game scenarios or platform rules.
Nemesis movement
Rule Question
Can the Acrobat jump forward, change direction, and then jump forward again?
Rulesplainer
Yes, the Acrobat is able to jump forward, change direction, and then execute another jump forward. This allows for increased movement flexibility in the game. The consensus among players is that the Acrobat’s ability to change direction mid-jump enhances strategic play. The responses affirm that this action is permissible according to the rules of the game. Thus, players can utilize this maneuver effectively within their game strategy. It’s recommended to consider the positioning of other game elements when performing this action for optimal results.
Acrobat
Rule Question
When can a Leader be checked for suicide or capture during a player’s turn? Is this check ongoing or limited to specific moments in the turn?
Rulesplainer
The rules specify that a Leader cannot be put in a position to be captured or surrounded during a player’s turn. This means that the check for potential suicide or capture is continuous throughout the turn. Players must ensure their Leader does not enter any losing situations at any point, including movement adjacent to an opponent’s Assassin that could result in capture. The capture by an Assassin occurs whenever the Leader is adjacent, so this check must also be considered during the movement phase. Therefore, the relationship of pieces on the board must be carefully managed throughout the entire turn, not just at the end.
Timing of Suicide/Capture Check ?
undefined