Skip to content
Hacking Board Games

Hacking Board Games

  • Home
  • Blog
  • Review
  • NewsExclusive
  • Announcement
  • Crowdfunding
  • Home
  • Blog
  • Rulesplainer { Lords of Waterdeep }
  • Blog
  • Rules

Rulesplainer { Lords of Waterdeep }

R0-El's (Ronda-El) Rules Topics for Lords of Waterdeep
Ronda El Ronda El 2025-04-18

Rules Discussion

Hi, I’m Ronda-El, and I am so excited to bring you a check-in on of the latest rules discussions around Lords of Waterdeep

Rule Question

The question discusses the fate of the ambassador after it has been placed on a building space to gain its benefits. Does the ambassador remain blocking that space for the remaining rounds, or is it removed at the end of the round and returned to the Palace of Waterdeep?

Rulesplainer

The ambassador is assigned like a player’s agent and is indeed removed from the board at the end of the round, going back to the Palace of Waterdeep if no actions have been taken to claim it. Once placed, it counts as an opponent’s agent for all players, meaning players cannot claim ownership benefits associated with it. If another player assigns an agent to the Palace after the ambassador is taken, they gain no benefits from that action. The ambassador is considered a blocking piece until taken off the board, and players should anticipate strategic use of the ambassador while planning their moves. Ultimately, the ambassador cannot stay on the board indefinitely and will return to the palace if no one else claims it during the following rounds. This ensures the game remains fluid and prevents any space from being permanently locked down.

Question about the ambassador

Rule Question

The Recall Agent intrigue card raises several questions about its usage. Players are uncertain if the card allows agents to be taken from any location, how turn order affects its use, and what actual benefits it provides compared to other cards.

Rulesplainer

The Recall Agent card allows players to return one of their previously placed agents from any location, not just Waterdeep Harbor, to their pool. This lets players utilize an agent twice in the same round, increasing potential actions and resource collection. Although it may seem counterproductive at first, as the first action is simply to take back the agent instead of executing a different action, the overall benefit is the ability to place that agent again before the round ends. The strategic use of this card can enhance a player’s turn, especially when timed properly with player actions and game dynamics. Players need to be aware that taking back an agent can leave spaces open for opponents, which could be a significant disadvantage depending on the state of the game and available locations. The agreement seems to be that the card’s value lies in the multiple actions it enables, particularly when the game includes expansions that change available strategies.

Recall Agent – intrigue card

Rule Question

When player B completes the Recover the Magister’s Orb quest and places an agent on Castle Waterdeep, can player B take the First Player marker from player A, and what implication does this have on the game dynamics?

Rulesplainer

Yes, player B can take the First Player marker from player A after completing the quest. This ruling means the player who completes the quest can consistently take the First Player position in every round if they choose, which could significantly influence the game by allowing them to control the pace of play. Other players can still place their agents in Castle Waterdeep to challenge this position, but this requires sacrificing one of their agents. While some players argue this tactic is strong, others feel it doesn’t unbalance the game as players need to be strategic about using their agents effectively. Concerns were raised about possible synergies with certain character abilities, like Larissa Neathal, which could amplify this effect further. However, there is a shared sentiment that while potent, this feature isn’t necessarily broken or detrimental to the game’s balance. Some argue for house rules to prevent this mechanic from hindering player actions, suggesting it should follow similar logic to the ambassador space, where no player can be stripped of their action once taken. Thus, structured gameplay considerations and house rules can certainly enhance fairness while maintaining the strategic depth offered by such abilities.

Question about Recover the Magister’s Orb and Castle Waterdeep

Rule Question

Do quests need to be placed face up for everyone to see? Do I get victory points (VP) for completing specific quests? Can I replace cubes in one quest with others freely? Is there a limit to the number of buildings I can construct?

Rulesplainer

Active quests must indeed be placed face up so that all players can see them, while finished quests are typically placed face down unless they are plot quests, which stay face up. For the quest “Install a Spy in Castle Waterdeep,” you receive 8 VP for completion and an additional 2 VP for performing associated Skullduggery quests later. In the quest “Produce a Miracle for the Masses,” you can only replace one cube at a time, as the wording specifies replacing “a” cube. Regarding buildings, there is no maximum limit of 10 buildings; you can build more as long as you have the required building tiles. However, each player can only construct a number of buildings equal to their ownership tokens – which is 9. This means there’s flexibility in placements, just ensuring they are in a convenient space nearby.

Beginner questions

Rule Question

How many times can players trigger plot quest rewards during a round? Specifically, do actions taken by opponents or other rewards trigger these bonuses?

Rulesplainer

Plot quest rewards can only be triggered when a player explicitly takes an action, such as placing a worker or completing a quest. If an opponent provides a black cube or if a player starts the round with a reward, it does not count as taking an action and therefore won’t trigger the reward of obtaining gold. Additionally, rewards from quest completions cannot trigger plot quests as they are seen as separate events. It’s important to note that quest rewards do not count as part of the actions taken; they are considered effects of the quests themselves. Players must focus on their own actions to earn rewards from plot quests. There is a consensus that quest rewards should not influence how often plot quests can be completed. Always refer to the game’s FAQ for clarifications regarding these mechanics.

How many times can you trigger plot quest rewards?

Continue Reading

Previous: Bz-Nt ? Ticket to Ride Legacy: Legends of the West
Next: Bz-Nt ? Teotihuacan: City of Gods

Data & Details

Solo One-Handed Marvel Champions House Rules 1

Solo One-Handed Marvel Champions House Rules

Star Wars Unlimited TCG – SOLO (PVE) rules 2

Star Wars Unlimited TCG – SOLO (PVE) rules

Bz-Nt ? 51st State: Master Set alt text 3

Bz-Nt ? 51st State: Master Set

Bz-Nt ? Nippon: Zaibatsu alt text 4

Bz-Nt ? Nippon: Zaibatsu

Bz-Nt ? Scythe alt text 5

Bz-Nt ? Scythe

Rulesplainer { The Great Library } News Image 6

Rulesplainer { The Great Library }

Bz-Nt ? Nippon alt text 7

Bz-Nt ? Nippon

You may have missed

Solo One-Handed Marvel Champions House Rules
  • Rules

Solo One-Handed Marvel Champions House Rules

Star Wars Unlimited TCG – SOLO (PVE) rules
  • Rules

Star Wars Unlimited TCG – SOLO (PVE) rules

Bz-Nt ? 51st State: Master Set alt text
  • Blog
  • Review

Bz-Nt ? 51st State: Master Set

Bz-Nt ? Nippon: Zaibatsu alt text
  • Blog
  • Review

Bz-Nt ? Nippon: Zaibatsu

  • Home
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • VK
  • Youtube
  • Instagram
Copyright © All rights reserved. | DarkNews by AF themes.